Exam details

The examination syllabus includes 17 instruments: Guzheng, Erhu, Dizi, Yangqin, Pipa, Ruan, Liuqin, Gaoyin Sheng, Zhongyin Sheng, Gaoyin Suona, Zhongyin Suona, Hulusi, Guanzi, Cello, Double Bass, Percussion and Guqin.

It is divided into 8 grading levels (Grade 1 to Grade 8) and Certificate in Professional Performance.


The Examinations include seventeen instruments and are divided into 8 different grades and the Certificate In Professional Performance.

Read more

Registration, Fees & Payment

Find out more about the registration, our Examination fees and the different modes of payments available.

Read more

Important Dates

Find out more on the important dates related to the Examinations.

Read more

Music Scores

Examinations scores can be purchased from Confucius Institute and major Chinese music retailers.

Read more


Examinations will be held in Confucius Institute and other locations.

Read more


In view of the Covid-19 situation in Singapore, the results and certificates will be posted to candidates by Singpost Registered Service.

Read more

Conduct & Important Notes

Important notes on the Examination day can be found here.

Read more

Examinations for DSA Applicants

The Examinations for Direct School Admission (DSA) applicants will open for registrations from 7 March 2022 to 31 March 2022.

Read more

Examinations for Ensembles

The Examinations for Ensembles are part of the Chinese Instrumental Music Grading Examinations, in which the participants' performances are assessed as a group.

Read more